Possible Penalties for a DUI in Colorado

Colorado DUI/DWAI Process

DUIs are no laughing matter. In Colorado, the penalties for a DUI can be quite severe. If you are convicted of a DUI, you could be facing jail time, expensive fines, and a license suspension. In addition, you will likely have to attend alcohol education classes and install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. But did you know that there are ways to avoid some of these penalties? Keep reading to learn about the possible penalties of a DUI in Colorado.

The Severity of Your Offense Matters

DUI laws in Colorado can be very severe and the possible penalties depend on the severity of your DUI offense. If convicted, you may face a wide range of consequences depending on the circumstances and your prior record. A first DUI offense can incur fines up to $1,000, community service hours, DUI classes, or an order to install an ignition interlock device in any car you drive. A DUI with extreme alcohol levels or multiple DUI offenses can result in increased jail time, license revocation for up to five years, and higher fines. As DUIs are considered a felony, anyone facing potential DUI charges must get a qualified attorney to protect their rights in Colorado.

Your First DUI: What the Penalties look like in Colorado

If you’re convicted of a first DUI offense in Colorado, it’s likely classified as a misdemeanor. This can mean spending up to one year behind bars, and/or a fine of up to $1,000. In addition, your license may be suspended for nine months and you could be ordered to take an alcohol education class or pay restitution if property damage was involved. While the scope of penalties for first-time DUI offenses is largely dictated by the severity of the charges and any prior history with law enforcement, first offenders should anticipate facing jail time and hefty financial consequences for their actions.

Your Second DUI: Felony Charge in Colorado

A second DUI offense in Colorado will likely end in a felony charge against you. This carries more severe consequences than a first offense and can involve hefty fines and even prison time. Depending on the severity of the infraction, you may face up to four years in prison, as well as being hit with a maximum fine of $5,000. It’s important to take second DUI offenses seriously – make sure you understand your rights and responsibilities.

License Suspension and Mandatory Alcohol Education Classes

Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs can lead to dire consequences. Colorado has specific license suspension and mandatory alcohol education classes that are mandated if you are convicted of a DUI. Therefore, it is important to remember that even if the fine associated with a DUI charge is relatively low, the additional license suspension and classes can have lasting financial and time-related impacts on your life. Having a license suspension affects your ability to go to work and complete other errands while having to take classes involves both time and money. Ultimately, all drivers in Colorado must be aware of the potential penalties associated with a DUI before getting behind the wheel.

Having a High BAC While Driving and the Consequences

If you’ve made the unfortunate decision to drive with a high BAC or caused an accident while behind the wheel, you may face enhanced penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) in the state of Colorado. Judges are likely to take this behavior seriously, as higher rates of BAC content and causing accidents represent a danger on the roads. An elevated DUI could result in fines of up to $1,000, court costs, possible jail time, increased alcohol education program requirements, and even public service hours depending on your situation. If an accident results in injury or death, your punishments will likely be significantly greater. It’s best to try and avoid these serious consequences by not driving with any amount of alcohol in your system.

Kalamaya | Goscha
Average rating:  
 0 reviews